Abstract Thursday: ?The Dark Side of the Moon?

No, I haven't actually been out in a spaceship with my camera, and it's not really the moon. Nor is it an abstract design for a new coin.

I've finally got round to filling the rotten areas in our bathroom windows (see here). Well, to be honest I tried using a water-based filler several days ago but as soon as someone used the shower, and condensation formed on the windows, the filler went soft again. So I had to dig out the old filler and use a resin-based filler instead (I knew really I should have used that in the first place but it meant a trip to the DIY shop). This is a catalytic filler which you mix just before you use it: it sets remarkably rapidly and doesn't have to be applied in layers as it doesn't set by drying out. (It's called "Wood Filler" but it smells just like the filler I used to use to pretend the oldish cars that I used to run weren't rusting to bits - except that this is yellow rather than grey.)

As I was doing the job I was pondering what to blip for Abstract Thursday. Youoregon1 has kindly reminded us that the topic is open for today as it's the first Thursday in the month. I realised that the spare, mixed filler, now hardened on the plastic lid of the can (which I used as a mixing dish) formed a nice abstract pattern. After a bit quite a lot of tweaking in Lightroom & Photoshop it looked like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.