Mind games

I'm wondering who I'm talking to but it's been necessary quite a few times recently. So, this morning,

"You're going on a long, long ride so make sure you take it steady."

I wasn't really but psychologically, it helped. I went even slower than my normal long, long rides.  And then, in desperate need of some new scenery, 

"Heading over to Embsay can't be much more height gain than Burnsall."
"Don't be an idiot."
"I really don't think I am."
[Raised eyebrow] 
"OK, I won't."

But I did.

"Super slow. Promise.  And I'll turn round if it starts up."

It was a slow but successful morning.  I think it's easier to persuade myself to go steady if I don't head towards Otley because that has always been my shorter faster ride.  I can't seem to convince myself otherwise on that one. 

Chatting away to myself helps and I am attempting to take on board all of your sensible advice.  

Today's mantra was advice from blipper, 8: "Slow down and smell the roses - or at least the verges."  and 60plus, "Pace yourself woman!"

Thank you all! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.