Morning Coffee

Sometimes I wonder why people think it's a good idea to take their kids to the coffee place….I think this hip looking dad was beginning to wonder that himself. The kids caught my attention because they were both sitting so properly in their seats. By the time I positioned my camera to surreptitiously snap a picture the result was a blur of flying legs and waving arms. In this picture order was restored…briefly. The next time I looked over, they were gone.The expressions tell the story and I love the color composition….

The view from my kitchen window is of the wooded hills of Annadel State Park. We have never been there because dogs aren't allowed in State Parks and it seems redundant to take Ozzie for his walk, bring him home and then go for a hike. That is, however, just what I did this afternoon with a friend. We encountered one ranger, two horses and about four people on bicycles on our hike up to Lake Ilsanjo. The horses had just deposited steaming piles of, er, poop in the middle of the trail. The bicycles were zooming down the dirt road and the ranger was sitting in his truck in the parking lot. I should have asked him why a dog was such a threat that it couldn't be allowed even on a leash..

There are miles and miles of trails in Annadel, some quite remote.  We are always reading about people getting lost, breaking legs,  or being airlifted out by helicopter. Last week we could see the smoke from a fire there which was quickly extinguished by helicopters dumping bright pink fire retardant. 

It was a lovely walk today in just about perfect conditions. It would have been really perfect if we could have taken Ozzie with us….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.