TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

The March of the Wattle

I smiled when I saw this today. These tiny little balls of wattle on its flat leafed bush, all seeming to march in line.  They emerge flat on the leaf and then proceed to grow a "leg". (I know photo stacking would have improved this shot no end, Mr. Hobbs, but I somehow lack the courage to try.)
I believe this is Acacia glaucoptera commonly known as Flat Wattle or Clay Wattle. It is endemic to the south-west of Western Australia, but used widely in native gardens, as in this case. It is a large rounded bush, rather than a tree.  I love the colour of the leaves - blue/grey with ruby tips.
My extra shows off a stem of this pretty thing much better, but I was taken by the regimentation of the structure.

I am falling behind again in commenting and responding.  Bear with me, I always come back. ;o))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.