A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

'I See a Silver Moon Rising'

Eighth Day: on the Cheshire Canals

Final day today. Well I say final day, in reality I mean final morning. We awoke, dressed, breakfasted & then made the short trip up the canal to the Marina, where after a bump & a knock here & there, the Admiral parked the Silver Moon back in her rightful mooring position. I've been increasingly aware over the course of the week that I've not actually Blipped a snap of the Silver Moon herself... & that's not going to change now. I had planned to, one as the barge went up in a lock would have been nice (hence the witty lyric pun name), but every time I'd planned to this week, something much more interesting flew, swam or sank nearby & so I moored that idea for another day. A barge is nothing without her crew & so I thought a nice cheesy family photo would be just the right Blip for the last holiday shot, I'm sure she'll understand.

We had a lovely holiday & I think it can best be described by way of metaphor, comparing it to the game Tension, which incidentally we played a couple of times over the course of the week. It was fun, full of adventure, hair-raising at times, a few tears here & there, minor bickering & squabbles over who does what, infinitely more enjoyable after a few bevies, but all in all a thoroughly good romp! And definitely something we would happily do again (that part's more so about canal barging; Tension's more of once on a Christmassy Day kinda game, preferably no more).

Back to normality & the boredom of a normal car & the motorways. When we arrived home our Grandad & his wife, Pam, were visiting, lovely to see them as always & a pleasure to tell our stories to.

Another great adventure begins tonight.. & ends for that matter. We're watching Indiana Jones & the Last Crusade. Such a good film, love Harrison Ford & Sean Connery as father & son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.