Mandarin Duck

A trip to Callander today for a 10k race, which turned out tougher than expected. I was aiming for 63 mins (which I thought was the club silver standard) which isn't a problem on roads, but this route was more than half trail and had 200m of climbing. My time was 63mins 34.5 secs - then I discovered the standard is actually 64 mins so I just made it! Maybe it was good thinking it was faster, it kept me going.
The mandarin was in the river by the carpark.
Afterwards we visited Bracklinn Falls. In August 2004 the Victorian bridge over the gorge was washed away and twice when we've been we've had to ford the river upstream a bit as the path needed was on the other side but now there is a new bridge made form local timber. )See extra).
The other extras are a view toward Stirling, where the castle can just be seen, and the falls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.