Black Tailed Godwits

What a wonderful day! Perfect weather for the time of year and a host of fungi and birds today.
We headed to Mere Sands Wood Nature Reserve near Ormskirk for the first time after I read about it on someone's journal on blip :)
It had an abundance of fungi - not something I am really into, but after today, who knows?
There were also the usual ducks, geese, gulls and lapwings, and we also saw a tree-creeper, my second this week, wrens, robins, tits, and after a long wait, we finally saw the kingfisher from one of the hides.
After a late lunch in a pub in Southport, we went to RSPB Marshside for an hour or so on the way home and I am glad we did. There were more geese and ducks, some lovely teal, wigeon, cattle egrets, snipe and these black tailed godwits. 
At just after 5pm we were politely asked to leave the visitor centre(as it closes at 5pm), so walked a bit further up the road, until it started to rain very lightly.
A great day out which has left me with hundreds of photos to sort through, most of which will end up in the bin as I was trying to sort my settings and getting it wrong most of the time - maybe I should just stay on auto?!!!

Hope you have all had as good a day as we have :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.