Goldcrest

After another wet morning we went for an earlier than usual Sunday lunch at my parents' house. 
As it had dried up a bit and wasn't too cold we decided to go in search of a blip to Penny Flash. This has become a bit of a standby place as it is only 20 minutes or so from home and almost always comes up trumps. 
I'd had a look back at recent blips and decided upon either a bullfinch or a robin as my target species. Within minutes of us arriving the bullfinches turned up but the hide was quite busy and my view was a bit restricted. Then something happened, we don't quite know what, but all the birds flew off and even the squirrels ran away. We didn't see or hear anything, so it was all a bit strange. Everyone soon headed off as the birds didn't return like they normally do, but we persevered and were rewarded eventually with a tiny little goldcrest. I've only ever seen one before and they are so tiny and so quick that it took me a lot of wasted shots before I finally got one that was more or less in focus and without a huge branch in front. 
Apart from the goldcrest(the UK's smallest bird), the only other birds of any note we saw were a few goosanders - not too common around our parts. 
For a change I'm not going to Sweden until Tuesday this week, so I have another day at home to look forward to - if the weather holds, I will see if I can get out again tomorrow afternoon after work for an hour. 

Hope it's been a good weekend for everyone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.