Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Happy Birthday, Mom!

Mom, her friend Yolanda and I went to the Olive Garden for dinner to celebrate her birthday.  Mom turned 82 years young.  Yolanda is actually eight and a half years older  than her. It's been a rough week for mom.  The doctor told her she was "officially advised not to drive" anymore.  I had to take her car keys out of the house.  She is very angry at me, believing it was my plot all along. It's really hard to give up your independence after being such an independent person your entire life. Going out with a friend was a welcome diversion.  The staff of the restaurant sang Happy Birthday  to her and gave her a free dessert.  When I left her for the night she seemed pretty content.

Love you, mom, and will forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.