Mixed

Today was mixed.

I started with co-leading an orienteering event in Stevenage for Brownies. I wasn't really in the mood, it was drizzling and I didn't know any of the units attending. However, the group I had were enthusiastic and keen to use the compasses so I had them walking on a bearing in no time. The words 'I'm really enjoying this' made me pleased I'd got out of bed for it :-)

The terrain was mixed: open grass parkland, scrub and wood so I was expecting to find a blip, probably fungi... but had no luck.

After lunch I popped into town for a 50th birthday card for Sarah and feeling a bit bleugh, went and sat by the river for a bit, which is where I took this blip, but tbh it in no way represents my day, which ended on a real high.

Despite not really feeling like going, we went to Sarah's birthday party and had an absolutely fantastic time. The band 'Madhen' were superb, running their songs into eachother without a break and so the dancing was just as continual. I literally danced all evening. Wild! Loved it! I just kept remembering that a year ago I couldn't walk, and now I was fit enough and confident enough to own the dance floor... well ok I shared it with Sarah - it was her party - and yes my smile was pretty big.

It was good to see Sarah happy with her new man Phil, after a difficult divorce since we climbed Kilimanjaro together. a lot can happen in 5 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.