Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

Soldering on

Recently, the downstairs Rega (how hip am I?) has started playing up (after 30 years). After about 1/2 an hour, it starts slowing down. Like me. Anyway, Dr Google said that it was either a loose pulley or a breaking down capacitor. I deduced that a loose pulley would be slow from the start so, after a trip to Maplins, soldered on a replacement capacitor (stretching my abilities to their limit). Fired it up again and it was fine! For 30 minutes.
Had a look at the pulley - hard to tell if it was slipping on the motor's spindle but then I managed to pull it off completely! Put it back on with a spot of glue (the recommended fix) and it has been fine ever since!
Still, the soldering made me feel manly.
There was a report on the Today programme this week saying that lots of men don't have many of the Dad Skills that used to be common. Hmmm.

For the last three weeks, I've had pulled muscle. (A bum muscle if you really must know). I've tried ignoring it but, amazingly, that hasn't helped. And I was hobbling round the tennis court yesterday. So I've decided to rest for a few days. It was odd to have a Sunday without a run or game of football...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.