GRANDAD

Had a lot to get on with today but I started looking for something in  a box of " family history " items and got sidetracked.  Spent far too long sorting through the items in there.  I came across this photo and decided to blip it.

It was taken in 1957 and shows my Grandad - front right  - after he had won some sort of trophy for playing bowls. I think the photo was taken at the Bowling Green in Saltwell Park in Gateshead. According to records the Mayor of Gateshead at the time was Abraham Crossley.

My Grandad - Stanley Bracey was born in 1898 in Harpenden in Herts. His father was a Shoemaker and later on a coal dealer/greengrocer.  Some time between 1901 and 1911 the family moved to South Shields.  This is where my Grandad met and married my Grandma Jessie Brown.  They married in 1921. They had seven children - however one boy died when he was 3 years old.  Grandad worked at the Royal Ordnance Factory  in Birtley for many years.  He always rode to work on his bike. 

In around 1956/1957 Grandma, Grandad, 3 unmarried aunts and one unmarried uncle moved to Whickham.  And my Mam, Dad, me and my brother also moved to Whickham - to live next door. It was lovely to grow up so near to close family.   Grandad was a very keen bowls player and played for the village team.  I remember him setting off to play carrying his leather bag which contained his set of woods.

Apart from getting absorbed in family history I did manage to pop to the Co-op this afternoon as well as doing a load of washing, lots of washing up, changing the cat litter and washing the trays and cooking chicken for my tea.

I also wrote a letter to one of my step - daughters to pop in with the birthday card which I posted today.  It will be her 58th birthday on Thursday. She lives in Hertfordshire with her sister and their mother. We haven't met up for years but we do keep in touch via Facebook and with letters.

It rained heavily through the night and it was still wet this morning but it brightened up later on.  Cold this evening though - heating is on.

Steps today - 8,900

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.