Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Rainbow behind Langelandster windmill

Today was the day of the "Groningen 4 mile" run. Martine participated together with her sister Jannie. They had great fun and managed to get a decent time as well. Well done!

I wanted to go out for a sunrise shoot this morning, but found out that the gaps in the clouds that were forecasted when I went to bed, were replaced in the forecast with complete cloud coverage. Since I was up early anyway, I watched the Formula 1 race in Japan, with once again a great result for young Dutch talent Max Verstappen: second place.

When I checked the forecast again when Martine had returned, there was enough reason to get out around sunset. I decided to go to the Langelandster windmill. During the last stretch of the drive, I noticed a rainbow behind the windmill. What should have been a quiet start of the shoot with plenty time to wander around for compositions, turned into a frantic situation where I ended up running towards the windmill to make sure I got some shots of the mill and the rainbow. When I looked around, I noticed I left the car with a door and the trunk open. Not a very good idea but fortunately nothing happened... Once the rainbow was gone, the pace of the shoot became a lot more relaxed and I managed to get some more nice shots. Still, the rainbow is my choice for today. When I drove home, the mist was crawling from the canals and the moonlit landscape looked quite serene and beautiful. A great end to a great Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.