Ormondville…………..

…………………Station


Not only is this building a New Zealand Historic Place Trust Classified Building, it is also self catering accommodation - and this is where we stayed last night. It was like staying in a museum - the decor and furnishing has been retained in the style of the 1950s era which also includes interesting railway office equipment.

Ormondville station is near Norsewood in southern Hawke's Bay, (North Island of NZ) built in 1880 and is one of a handful of early wooden rail buildings that have been preserved.

The Main Photo
On the platform after midnight as we waited for a goods train to pass on its journey north or south
Extra Photos
1: The Ormondville Station in daylight from across the rail tracks
2: Looking North from the station platform
3: Advertisement for station accommodation.

It is four days since my last blip and hopefully I will manage to back blip the missing days soon, but I’m afraid my commenting will continue to be limited for the moment.


I send you all a huge thank you for the comments, stars and hearts for my young granddaughter, Sophia. I see comments and stars are still arriving and I really appreciate your continued support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.