Skelf...

skelf (n) scots dialect: a small sliver of wood imbedded under ones skin. Extraction usually carried out using a needle or tweezers.

I have had it confirmed by a number of persons that skelf is indeed a general scottish term, not just an Alloa one which I've not used or required to use for well over 10 years.

The shoddy plywood that has been used to surface the skatepark at the Ocean Terminal shopping centre in Edinburgh managed to locate part of itself into my pinky where it remained for about 2 weeks.

I managed to get at it at the weekend after several days of trying and couldn't believe it when this 1 cm sliver of skatepark came almost perpendicularly out of my digit.

I feel like a fully functioning human again as it has all but healed in 2 days.

Ahhhhh.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.