After Shop

A downhill kind of day when events and my own forgetfulness seemed to conspire against me. Needing to get home on time I missed my train because it left a full minute early! I could easily have caught it because I was on time, strolling up towards the platform. And then it just pulled away. I couldn't believe it. I went up to the ticket desk just to give expression to my frustration, in as good humoured a way as I could muster. The ticket clerk was as surprised as me. "Yes, you're right," she said, "he's left a minute early. I'm very sorry." She seemed genuinely shocked on my behalf. "Can you call him back please? He can't have gone far." The question had to be asked. 

Arriving back later than intended I had to pop into the supermarket to pick up a few essentials. Shopping duly bagged up at the check-out, I realised I had no cash on me, and no card to pay. It meant a walk up the hill home and then back down again, before a final climb back up again with the groceries. I don't make my life easy at the moment!

The working part of the day wasn't much better but I did at least get out into Market Square at lunchtime for some photography, in great light too. I'm becoming tuned into these bus stop shots at the moment. They need the right light and perhaps the position of the sun in the sky is helping at this time of year. I would like to study more closely but it's hard to stare down a crowd of people like this, even when they're as friendly as the folk in Shipley. They don't understand that it's not them I'm looking at, but all the random people on the street that are being magically projected inside. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.