My Angle

By myangle

RIP Merlin

I have a heavy heart tonight. Me and Jo had to take our beloved sixteen and a half year old cat Merlin to the vet today for his final visit. A difficult thing for both of us considering he was our first pet and has been a part of our lives for so long. We don't have kids so our pets are our children.

What can I say about him? Affectionate, independent, noisy at night. A typical male cat. He kept Jo busy cleaning up after his many sprays in the cat enclosure, and occasional one in the house. Patient. For the past 5 or so years he has been diabetic, and had kidney problems, both requiring needles and pills twice daily. He suffered the manhandling without fuss and for that I admire him.

He drove us nuts at night with his constant loud yowling. The neighbours will probably be glad he is gone!

He had great personality. I always came second to Jo whom he adored. He did however warm to me when I forced myself on him. He always smelled good.

This was one Merlin's favourite spots, his hammock, which gave him a great view of the road and surrounding houses. Also a good place to step onto the rail when he wanted to spray. I like the idea of remembering him sitting there looking out.

I can't believe he is gone forever. We'll both miss him so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.