What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Pilgrim Friendly

That is the way Villar de Mazarife is described in my guide and this Blip of one of the many doors in town decorated to honour Santiago certainly backs it up. So do the locals in all the albergues, cafes and bars that I've been in, I don't think I've been wished Buen Camino! this much since I started!

The choice today was between coming here or following the main route to Villadangos, and I'm glad I optioned. There's also been the meeting of new pilgrims as most I know are resting in Leòn today - I had a great dinner with some new Canadians (they are definitely representing on the Camino at the moment) who I will hopefully see in Astorga tomorrow - they are Bill, Michelle and Rob, before I forget.

A brief warning to any pilgrims reading and following me here tomorrow - it's a lot hillier than the book describes - nothing too strenuous but constant rolls that hide distances!

Bonus pics of the beautiful open space and a homemade countdown on the road!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.