suehutton

By suehutton

Tis Autumn

As rehearsal finished last night, I realised I was coming down with a cold. I hope it's over soon.

Luckily, I wasn't planning anything busy today but had been looking forward to a visit to my favourite garden centre with Len. The Grange at Asfordby just outside Melton Mowbray.

A wide variety of acers greeted us, of which this is one. Most beautiful Autumn colours in many shades of red. Even our acer has improved this year. Saplings have sprouted from the base of the trunk. Something seemed to nobble it last year so Len had cut it down.

I'd wanted to find red Rudbeckia and Michaelmas Daisies but was unsuccessful. I did find a lone flowering Echinacea. The stem broke in transit, thanks to a cardboard box with an unsecured bottom. Apparently I have to return in Spring for Michaelmas Daisies. Maybe I can snaffle a cutting from someone.

We enjoyed lunch, as usual, with Basil stretched out under the table. That's another good reason for going there. It's dog friendly.

While there, I had an interesting FB chat with Michael, who I regard as something of a mentor. He's urged me to blog about my experiences of using a camera. He says it's what a lot of people would enjoy reading. Perhaps time to resurrect Tumblr.

Len is watching the footy on TV. I don't think England are performing very well. 

After I finish this, I'm going to bed, wrapping up warm, dozing and maybe finding a good book.

I'm glad I bought Digital Camera magazine yesterday. I found at least two useful tips and the videos on the CD might prove instructive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.