Going the other way today....

Along a section of trail it goes by a series of houses backyards and one house had a bunch of yellow painted bicycles in various conditions mounted to their back fence. I just liked this one with the American flag attached to it... 

Today my goal was to make it to the covered bridge and back 7 miles / 11.3 Kilometers.. I saw two herons, some frosty moss, wood and other things (yes it was cold), many other birds, some flowers, and two bridges..

The first bridge was the original railroad trestle with the rails removed and a top trail deck installed. The train only made it another 1/2 mile before being abandoned.. It was just so much cheaper to ship things by boat to Seattle or Tacoma first..

The second bridge (covered) used to be part of the Washington State Ferry ramp to get on the Bainbridge Island ferry.. Somebody thought why not reuse it as a trail bridge.. I couldn't find out HOW it got there though...

Let's just say I will sleep well tonight and hope I can move in the morning but I am very happy I was able to accomplish this hike..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.