A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

When the Boat Comes In

I'm home but only just. A whole day late and without my car. It was touch and go whether I'd get back today at all. 

My car had arrived at a garage late yesterday afternoon so we gave them until 9.30am before we called them. To our surprise we were told the technician was sick until Monday so it wasn't going to be even looked at until then. Just as well we checked, we could have just sat there waiting!

I set the 'get me home' clause in the breakdown cover into action. Again hours of waiting for them to get back. I chased them up to find they couldn't find a car rental company that would allow their car to be dropped off at Calais. A taxi was booked. That cost them €390 plus the €80 boat fair and then the £150+ for the car hire to get me home from Dover. This will be added to once the car is fixed and they will pay for me to return to collect it to ship it back....

Did I mention it was good to be back?

It may be fate, I don't know but when I booked this trip I had wanted to stay until today so that I was in the area the day the war diary says my Great Grandfather was told he had won the Military Medal. Did my car know?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.