A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Still in France

My broken car took nearly 23hrs from pick up to being delivered to a garage. A case of something lost in translation I fear.

Being confined to the village of La Boisselle my friend and I walked to Lochnagar Crater for a second visit. It is very hard to photograph but I thought I'd share some facts.

It was created on the first day of the Battle of the Somme at 7.28am Saturday 1st July 1916.

It took 60000lbs of explosive to make. It was the largest of the 17 mines detonated that day.

The earth rose 4000ft high and the sound was heard as far away as Norfolk .

The hole left behind is 300ft across and 70ft deep.

Although placed directly under the German lines the British 34th Division that attacked that area still lost 6380 men that day.

This image is of the cross that stands next to the crater. The trees you see are across the other side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.