A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Another Casualty

For the past two days I have been following the exploits of my Great Grandfather who was a stretcher bearer during WW1. Yesterday 100 Years ago he won a Military Medal during the attack on Stuff Redoubt.

On this day the war diary suggests his unit was still busy bringing the wounded back to the château at Aveluy. The château was under heavy artillery fire and the Advance Dressing Station was moved further back to the next village.

On route back and forth from the front they would have passed Crucifix Corner just out of the village. It may be fate but definitely irony that this late afternoon my car broke down as we finished out last visit of the day.

Plenty of help was offered by locals but a recovery was needed. Here you see my car being taken by 'stretcher' as it approached Crucifix Corner. I followed in the car belonging to my guesthouse owner, what a hero he has been.

I don't know if the car will survive or not but I suspect some form of casualty evacuation chain will be involved in getting back home tomorrow...

Sorry I couldn't find a way for this to fit with this week's theme for Mono Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.