Dzong Tableau

Last pic from Thimphu's festival, where we quickly visited the dzong whose main courtyard is used for the festival. While my traveling companions went inside the prayer hall, I just positioned myself across from that wonderful background and snapped shots of passing people :)

Rain was the word of the day again. Miserable and cold, but the festivities went on anyways. The beautifully dressed ladies were very carefully lifting their kiras to make sure the bottom didn't drag in the slush. Everyone was pretty unfazed though there were fewer broad smiles than when we first went.

We've now returned to Paro from where we'll hop on a short flight back to Kathmandu tomorrow morning (early up at 5:15am... The night owl in me is not going to miss having to wake up to an alarm clock and dark skies!).

I thoroughly enjoyed these past three weeks (stomach ailments not withstanding...) but I'm ready for home and all its conveniences -- like not digging through a suitcase to find my next outfit ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.