Epic

Bit of an ordeal getting this shot. So far it's the only one I've processed from my 3 day trip up north, so not sure if it's the best of the bunch.

This was my 2nd time here. The 1st time I didn't get the camera out the bag. After 24 hours on the mountain top, all I saw was white.

This time, the conditions were better, but only just. I was looking forward to seeing the view for the 1st time and I wasn't disappointed. With the noises of the deer rutting in the glen below it was like a scene from Jurassic Park.

After pitching my tent and standing around taking shots during a pretty grey sunset I settled in to the tent for the night. Unfortunately the wind picked up and the cloud dropped down meaning -
1. I had to keep getting up in the night to put the tent pegs back in the ground and the noise from the flapping kept me awake all night.
2. I had my 'spare' camera with me that doesn't like moisture. My main camera is away getting fixed under warranty. So when the cloud came down the camera did its usual and wouldn't let me change any settings. It stayed that way the entire time I was up there.

In the morning (after giving up with the tent - was like lying in a plastic sack!) the visibility was zero and the wind was making it very scary to stand near the sheer drop. But after a bit of a wait, it eventually began to clear just in time to catch a little bit of colour in the sky too. I had to manage as best I could with the camera.

Exhausted, on the way back down I muttered that I'd never be back but of course I will. I'm sure there are better shots I can get.

Stac Pollaidh, Beinn an Eoin, Loch Lurgainn & Bad a' Ghaill and Coigach & Inverpolly from Sgurr an Fhidhleir at sunrise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.