Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Pointless

Not strictly pointless. In fact today went rather well as we had our H&S training updated.  Although I have been able to use these machines competently since the late 80's it has been a while since I've had any training on a Lathe,  Miller & an Arc Welding kit. A few changes since my college days, like not using a file whilst turning on a lathe!!  The welding was probably the most fun (hence my name in the blip) as I have never done MIG welding before and was refreshingly different to "stick welding" which I have done on numerous occasions. The guy C who runs the course did the usual fantastic job and he brought a "trainee" with him which actually sped things up and made it more interesting. I say this because quite often engineers tend to differ slightly in workshop techniques that it was useful to bounce ideas off each other. A lot of the times C would ask us "what we would do if..... " and more often than not the answer would be different, but correct/safe etc.

As for the title, the arc "writing" is pretty pointless (just me being cocky), and the DIY plumb is something that is rarely used as it is all lasers  nowadays. But, as any turner will tell you, the plumb is a perfect "Thing" to make as it covers pretty much all the basics on a Lathe.

The joys of being a Technician. Bring on the weekend Blippers.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.