Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Taking a break

I decided to give all the critters of Tallyho a break today. Oh, who am I kidding? I decided to give myself a break. Instead of lugging Big Daddy around, I decided to play with my iPhone and a new gizmo I got for it - the Olloclip.. It has a "macro" lens which is what I used for this shot of the stamen of a hibiscus. It also has a fisheye lens that I used for this coneflower and feet shot. Also a wide angle that I haven't used yet. Kind of fun. The only drawback to the macro lens is that you have a focusing distance of about an inch to 1 1/2 inches - a little too close for must insects since they don't really like the big eye getting that close. Cool for flowers though. I also posted on Flickr Foxglove sticking out its tongue.

So, is anyone besides me feeling a little bummed now that the Olympics are over? This is like when I used to live in NYC and have Knicks season tickets - when the season ended (unfortunately, and unlike the Olympics, always badly) I would be depressed for weeks, going through sports withdrawal. Feels kind of like that, only with a much happier end to the "season." I loved the closing ceremony last night - a fitting cap to a wonderful Olympic Games. London did itself proud - and gave Rio quite a legacy to live up to in 2016. It was a wonderful 17 days.

The hubs is getting home this afternoon after having been gone a week - one of the longest separations we've had in our entire married life! Needless to say, I am looking forward to having him home. And so are the cats. Phoebe has taken to licking and biting my ear lobes in the morning now if I am not quick enough to get up. Apparently I am not living up to the standard set by hubs when it comes to providing the cats with their early morning entertainment. And you really haven't lived until you've had a cat lick your ear while purring loudly. Not so bad in my deaf ear, but pretty freaky in my hearing ear!

Thanks again to all of you whojoined into the Tallyho Alternative Olympics this past week - it was fun and it seems like I succeeded in giving many of you some laughs. So, yay! We may have some Olympic tryouts next year ... stay tuned. The hummies say they are ready to kick some chickadee ass. (Hey, that's what they said, I'm just repeating it!)

Cheers and Happy Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.