Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Burnet Moth

There are few creatures that are quite as stunning as a Burnet Moth as it flutters around on sunny days . There are 7 species of these day flying moths in the UK. This one is a Six-Spot Burnet, Zygaena filipendulae, which visits thistles and knapweeds.

It's very much at home on the North Downs where there is a great deal of Birds foot Trefoil which is it's caterpillars food plant.

I was lucky to get this one today. When I went up on the Downs in the bright sunshine the other day, minus a camera, they were fluttering around en mass. Sods law it was dull for my return and even decided to pour with rain as I go out of the car!

I've just had a call to say that Lucy, Lachlan and Felicity are all arriving in an hour so I'd better go and get some food for them. Happy days!

A massive thank you, to all, for your support, lovely comments stars and favourites. My Pond Skater hit the spotlight page, as are many of my insects recently and far more often than I deserve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.