Dahlia...

I met my friend (& former co-worker) for breakfast this morning. She hadn't been able to make it to my retirement party and had said she'd treat me for breakfast when her family problems settled down, so today was the day. She brought me a beautiful bouquet of flowers, and we had a lovely time catching up--I left about 2 1/2 hours later--we love to gab! Tonight we're going out to dinner with my Uncle (my mom's younger brother)--he lives in Arizona, and comes up once or twice a year to see his sister, my aunt--they're the last 2 of my mom's 4 siblings, and he turned 86 yesterday--my aunt is 92. They are both the most interesting people, and are both totally with it & can remember everywhere they lived, what they did, etc. He says he's "too old" to go around to everyone's houses to visit like he used to, so he invites all the nieces, nephews and my aunt to meet at a restaurant & whoever can make it, comes. He very generously picks up the check for all the dinners, & we all get to visit--it's the one time of year that I get to see not only my uncle, but many of my cousins too, so I love to go!  Hope you're all having a great weekend! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.