B(rahms) for Boring

Report from the symphony: A for effort with the Grieg Piano Concerto in A minor. Pensive, thoughful playing instead of bombast and forceful passion from the pianist, which I found fresh. A bit incongruous in places with the orchestra parts, I felt though, as if they were playing 2 different pieces. It worked for the 2nd movement very successfully. I really like that movement. In my mind's eye I see a garden on a warm afternoon and the start of a delicious, cool rain each time. And it's lovely. Rain always is.

I hate Brahms. Boring. Even his melodies are boring. He has his moments, far apart. The Quartet in G minor arranged for orchestra was quite a treat: modern use of orchestral colours and just fun. Just that it was wasted on Brahms. I sat there waiting it out. Then, that far apart moment struck. Final movement. Pure excitement!

Watched a late night screening of Dan Brown's Inferno after. Was ok. Not much puzzles. Doubt will bring it up in a conversation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.