Joyful

It was a beautiful day in Chicago today! Bright blue sky and an autumn chill in the air. I had a meeting south of my hotel and I grabbed lunch from a food truck and I enjoyed eating it in a park with the sun on my face. After my brief meeting I decided to take a water taxi back to Navy Pier, not far from my hotel. There wouldn't be too many days left when it would be warm enough to sit outside on a boat in Chicago!

I just missed one of the taxis so I asked the two women who were helping people buy tickets if I had time to go grab a coffee before the next one. Yes, but bring us back one, they said. We laughed and they said they were joking, but I did! And why not? These friendly and helpful ladies were standing outside all day and I was sure they could use a hot drink.

They were quite shocked when I returned with 3 cups of coffee - in fact they almost cried. They said it made their day. I'm not intending to blow my own trumpet - but just want to show that it doesn't take much to brighten someone's day, especially those who are in the service industry and deal with customers. It's always feels good to be appreciated.

So go on....go spread some kindness on someone and see their face light up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.