Plus ça change...

By SooB

Monopoly

It seemed unlikely, after yesterday's persistent rain and greyness, that today's promised sunshine would materialise. But it certainly did. The morning had a tropical look - sunshine and everything steaming as it dried off - but it was quickly back to summer temperatures.

CarbBoy and I did the market run and tagged on a trip to a friend's garage sale, where CarbBoy disappeared to play with my friend's son and I hung out in the sun chatting. Somehow two Hong Kong bird cages fell into my boot... I'm sure I'll be blipping them soon.

Home for lunch and chat in the garden, then Monopoly in the shade. I've hurt my hand somehow (probably some over-vigorous indicating on a roundabout) and didn't help matters by smacking it really hard off the table. The game was halted, with CarbBoy the winner on value, then off out to dinner. TallGirl was desperately trying to get MrB (who was in a 'jovial' mood) to promise not to sing in front of our hosts... So imagine his delight when they - at the very smallest provocation - pulled out a guitar for a medley of U2 and country!

It was a fine night, with great food and much chat in three languages (MrB and MrF discovered they were equally bad at German, but in interestingly different accents).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.