I went to a photo shoot this evening at the National Capital Trolley Museum.  They had brought out 3 of the old trolleys and brought in a couple of actors in 50’s dress and an old Chrysler. There were about 30 of us, so movement was limited and had to be done en masse, and I couldn’t get in closer to get the shots I might have liked.  They provided some large lights and the moon was full.  Now if you know anything about shooting the moon, you know that a long exposure won’t cut it because the earth and the moon move, leaving a blown out blur.  And even though a full moon sounds great, by the time it gets higher in the sky, it looks pretty small. 

This all looks a bit too staged to me, and to make it worse, I zoomed into the moon and got some shots at 1/125s and then superimposed the moon ( and enlarged it a bit…:-)) in Photoshop.   It seemed to be asking for some sort of retro treatment, so this is sepia and selenium, processed in Topaz B&W Effects.  Just a bit of fun, really….


I will post some of the other shots in Flickr in the next day or so. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.