Autobahn

A pleasant start to the day, taking breakfast at the Cow Shed with my business acquaintance and (nearly, I think) friend, Andrew. Despite the fact that I'm supposed to be low-carbing, I couldn't resist accompanying my coffee with toast, butter and marmalade, which was wonderful.

After that, I headed up the M6 to the office, although just south of Preston, the traffic ground to a halt and I realised that the other carriageway was deserted. It stayed like that for a few minutes, maybe as many as ten, before a police vehicle appeared heading the other way, with an obedient phalanx of traffic cruising along behind it. A little while after that, things began to free up on our side, too. (There was nothing to see so maybe it was just a police exercise.)

I took this picture while I was sat in the stationary traffic. I like how it's turned out, not least - mostly, in fact - because it reminds me of the original cover to Kraftwerk's 'Autobahn' album. That's partly to do with the motorway (of course), and the bridge, the blue of the sky and the grey of the tarmac, but also because you so rarely see an empty stretch of motorway! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.