Wood

There are two firms locally from whom I buy wood, although I haven't done so for more than four years (while I wasn't at the house). I dimly remembered that last time I bought it from Fred Gibson and so earlier this week, I rang Gavin Charlesworth and asked him to deliver a load of logs.

Admittedly, one of us had a pretty lousy phone signal when we were making the arrangements and that might have been what led to my surprise last evening when Gavin turned up with a bit more wood than I was expecting! Here is a photo of the wood from this morning. It all needed stacking.

Characteristically, both the Minx and Abi mucked in with the process of transferring the wood from the front of the house to the wood store down the side, although it was obvious from the start that it wouldn't all fit in there. (I think I received about twice what I envisaged.) 

But then Abi's godfather turned up with a belated birthday present and biscuits so we took a break and went in for tea, during which time the Minx had to set off home. Abi and I had another poke at the job after Ged had gone but then she went off to a friend's house, so I was left to finish off on my tod.

I swear it was much more than three times faster when there were three of us working at it. Perhaps, in part, that was because there was a lot less standing around, looking at what was left to do, and sighing. Still, the job got finished in the end (with some surplus logs being stacked at the front of the house).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.