Lest we forget

When I was young, I read Robert A. Heinlein's novel 'Starship Troopers'. It's a rollicking story that is leavened by some interesting political discourse, apparently reflecting the author's own views. Even as a young teenager, I felt it was not quite where I instinctively felt myself to be politically but I found the arguments interesting enough (and I still wouldn't agree that it advocates fascism, which seems ludicrously over the top as a criticism).

In the book, only people who have served in the armed services are allowed to vote, on the grounds - as I remember them - that you had to earn the right by showing you were willing to die for your country. (As a sidebar, it's interesting to note that our most hawkish politicians are the ones who have never served, while those that have are often very keen to avoid national conflict.)

Now, I might not agree about the voting but I do think that we should take good care of anyone who has been willing to put their life on the line, not just fighting for their country but often putting their lives in danger to help those at risk. It appalls me that we should need charities to help ex-servicemen: the government, seemingly rarely reluctant to deploy them into danger, should take care of them when they do retire. 

I mention all this because today Dan, Abi, and I drove over to Clitheroe to meet up with Charlie. To earn our tea, we had a walk up to and around the castle, where I saw this chap, perhaps enjoying a moment of reflection but still keeping an eye out for his fellow man. 

****
-12.6 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.