"Rotten Row"

This is the Brewery Arts Centre, viewed from the top of its terrace. I've previously climbed up here using the steps from the gardens and I knew there was a lane running just behind the wall but I didn't ever know how to get to it. 

Today, though, the Minx bravely went to the dentist - an activity that fills her with dread - so I had a wander around the area while she was in the chair. The surgery itself is on Captain French Lane, which was originally called Rotten Row, and which was renamed after a Captain French who was a church warden in 1660 (see here and scroll down to the bottom).

There's an alleyway off that road that broadens out to become the lane that runs behind the Brewery, with a couple of doors in the wall leading to the Brewery's terrace. Hence a small addition to my local knowledge was the silver lining to the Minx's black cloud!

****
-12.3 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'The Liars' Gospel' by Naomi Alderman 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.