Barbondale

Serendipitously, my day unfolded such that I had enough time free this afternoon to run out to the bridge over Barbon/Barkin Beck* and back. I think this is possibly my favourite run, with this stretch in the photograph between the bridge and the course for the Barbon Hill Climb being the best bit. 

Although the path climbs from the bridge, it's a very comfortable ascent and an enjoyable run with great views all the way to the woods in which Barbon Manor is nested. In amongst the trees, the path descends down to the river and back up again. It's pure pleasure. 

I made it home in good time to shower and then pop down to the Royal Barn to meet my friend Chris for a couple of pints: perfect afternoon!

*I've been trying to work out where Barkin Beck becomes Barbon Beck. It's not very clear on the maps. However, looking at Google images, the people labelling their photos at the bridge where I crossed the river as Barkin Beck seem to be a bit more qualified, i.e. geology nerds. 

****
-12.7 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'The Liars' Gospel' by Naomi Alderman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.