HilaryinOman

By HilaryinOman

Green Heron(juvenile)

Taken yesterday as I needed to do my research on this unusual looking Heron. He or she was not happy to be photographed as you can see by the very shifty looking demeanour! I was very intrigued by this bird as it was so dark, almost black with bright yellow eyes. Trawling the internet it seems to be a juvenile Green Heron and one day will be a very attractive, instantly recognisable Heron. The fully grown adult has bright yellow legs, a rich chestnut body and a dark green cap, with beautifully marked wing feathers outlined with pale creamy yellow.
It eventually skulked into a shadowy part of the inlet and stayed there completely still, until the Gulls arrived and it flew off. Great sight for me and I'm glad I now know what it is. I will probably see it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.