The Caley

It's Monday and the week starts with an empty fridge- a box of eggs, some slices of cheese and a carton of milk don't add up to many meals.
Down to town His Lordship and I went, separately and together, to fill the shelves and make it appear that we do eat should anyone open the fridge door.

As I skipped down the Mound in the Autumn sunshine, I took this blip of the view looking west, dominated by the red stone building of the Caledonian Hotel, fondly known to the Edinburghers as the Caley, but also including the spires of St John's Church, St Mary's Cathedral, and St Cuthbert's.
The Caley is the only important long standing hotel in Edinburgh whose portals I have never graced. I like to think it is their loss not mine.

Again since it is Monday I expect my friend of many talents to phone me from Ireland to keep a continuity with our erstwhile Monday get togethers. For operational reasons, I am unable to phone her. And so I wait with anticipation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.