Project Owlnet ...

I spent this beautiful sunny day enjoying the sun room (not many days left for that)  and taking lots of pictures of all the squirrels.  I was going to post a squirrel shot today for Squirrel Blip Friday, but after supper we went out to a owl program that I had read about in the paper.  (Sorry, Kevin!)

The program was for banding saw-whet owls and was being held at Kettle Creek Environmental Education Center.  Having never seen a saw-whet owl we just had to go!  And we certainly were not disappointed.  While we were there a total of three owls were netted and banded.  The owl in my picture was the first one.  The gentleman doing the banding was Darryl and was very informative.  He and his wife have been doing bird banding for over 17 years. 

Kettle Creek as a very nice facility and we will have to go back during the day sometime.  There are several walking trails and they seem to have lots of different programs to attend.  We will be back!


I have a ways to go in the catching up, but I have posted the last few days if you are interested ... starting with this surprising  Wild Wednesday shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.