Cole Turkey

As I sit in bed listening to the rain hopping on the metal roof, I'm double checking what day it is. I feel like I've time warped. 

Spending six or seven hours driving sounds a bit arduous but the big vista out of the van window made me feel like a tourist before I'd reached Skipton. The clarity and colour of the light was wonderful as we headed on, skirting the Dales.  I've travelled up to Stonehaven today, just south of Aberdeen where the weather is becoming less clement, for sure. 

I stopped a couple of times on the way up, borrowing a far more pleasing venue than a service station from Wendles56, only a few minutes off route. 

I've left Yorkshire behind for a complete pedalling rest and an attempt to quash my addiction somewhat.  In searching for an adventure of the bimbling variety, I happened across an idea from visitscotland.com to discover film locations.  I'm not passionate about the film aspect of the venues but doing more research, the areas that it's dropping me into are right up my street.

Little Dog has leapt around on two beaches today. We haven't been to the seaside for a while and the first really had her giddy! 

Stonehaven has much claim to fame including the inventor of the first pneumatic tyre. It's a charming place and I'll be up early in the morning in search of Hamlet or William Wallace. I'd be quite content with either but preferably not a vampire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.