Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Practising for the Real Thing

Part of my duties include being part off the Council's team that responds to civil emergencies.  Thankfully, these are very rare and so far I have mainly been involved in practicing for the possibility of an emergency like flooding, or most recently a solar flare that knocked out electricity across the region.

Today, I was at a planning meeting for an exercise to test responses to an emergency affecting a chemical plant in our area.  It would involve all of the blue light services as well as other first responders.  A real multi-agency challenge.  While I'm hopeful I will never need to put what I learn into practice, these exercises help develop better understanding of the roles of each agency.  I now realise, having been on a team planning such an event how they manage to make the practise play so realistic.

Anyway, as I left the meeting I noticed this firefighter, practising the removal of an injured person from height at the adjoining fire station.  It seemed an appropriate image to share with the words I've written.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.