Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Receding Light, Fishley

How conditions can change in literally the blink of an eye.  I woke early (as usual) and on looking out of the window to the east, was surprised to see a ribbon of clear sky on the horizon.  It was enough to get me shuffling out of the house to head for the countryside.

I stopped near the canal, I could see some colour in the sky and, ever hopeful, headed for a vantage point to set up the camera.  Luckily I'd put on a waterproof jacket, because literally as I planted the tripod legs, raindrops started pattering on the water in front of me.  Even more perplexing, the colour that had enticed me from the house, was fast receding to the north. This was one of only 5 shots taken.  The colour you can see here had disappeared completely with 5 minutes; the rain had strengthened and I made a quick retreat to the car.

In the end the day was productive; a batch cook of chilli; a bush removed that had been blocking light at the front of the house and the cars cleaned inside and out.  Even caught up with Strictly' after being out last night.

Oh and I forgot to mention, no filtration on the shot - quite chuffed at the cameras ability to capture both shadow and highlight detail without any help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.