The Boys (& Girls) in the Band

This is a shot I thought I had lost as a memory card corrupted on me but it opened tonight.

The PGHS School wind band were playing the forst in what is a series of concerts by school bands at lunchtimes in the Royal Concert Hall in Glasgow.  The kids were a total credit to themselves, their parents and the school as they entertained the assemble crowd, a free concert in the city,fabulous.

I sat at the back  so I could take some shots to send to the school for the school twitter account.  An woman who I suspect would be int her 60's came in with her son, a man with downs syndrome, they sat in the front row and he spoke with the kids in the band, all too often children are scared, maybe scared is the wrong word, but I cannot express it better at present, and the kids just spoke away before the performance started.  It gladdened my heart that these young people just accepted this man without question.  I know how cruel people can be having run a scout group for physically and mentally impaired children.

When the music started the man came alive, the smile on his mothers face was simply beautiful and mum and son shared an hour of pure pleasure.  I too loved the music but more I loved to share that little moment albeit as a distant observer... magical 

Not the greatest shot but that really doesn't matter today 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.