Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

On this Date, Forty Years Ago

I was looking through my high school yearbook the other day in anticipation of my upcoming reunion and I ran across this photo that I hadn't noticed before tucked amongst the pages.

It is a photograph of all of the winners of the Erie County Music Educators Association College Scholarships for my senior year. On the back it was dated 8/13/72.

I am the third one from the right in the front row. I won the $200 scholarship for my audition on my baritone horn (it looks like a small tuba and is sometimes referred to as a euphonium). It was a highly competitive competition.

I look back at that picture and smile. My mom made that outfit for me. We didn't have a pot to piss in and I had to have a long skirt to play in the All County Wind Ensemble. Paisley was sort of "in" and long hair for girls was definitely the thing in '72.

Notice how the guys all had short hair, too. After I saw the picture, I looked through the book and this held true for every single boy's and girl's hair styles.

I can't wait to see how many guys are bald and if there are any women who still have long hair!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.