a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Seen better days ...

Derelict Sunday:  The Cattle Market Tavern

To my great shame, I didn't manage to sort out a blip for Derelict Sunday last week, despite it being the first anniversary of the challenge - clearly dereliction of duty.  So I've been keen to try to make amends.  Here for you then is what is left of the Cattle Market Tavern.

This pub can be found in the triangle of land that lies between the River Avon, Bristol Temple Meads and the Feeder Canal/Floating Harbour.  It has been very run down for many years, but is now part of Bristol's Enterprise Zone, and the Bristol Arena project should be taking place nearby.   The nice new pavement that you can see in front of the building is part of the new road system that has been constructed both to serve that project and to improve cycle links in this part of Bristol.

The fact that the pub still stands tends to make me think that its probably been listed (I haven't checked) as real estate will probably become quite valuable in this part of town in the future.  Despite my best pub visiting efforts over the last 38 years (since I was first allowed to buy beer in pubs legally), this is yet another Bristol pub that I have never drunk in.  ;-)

I've had a long day on Blip today - but I think I have caught up (finally) with most people's journals.  Now if I can just try to keep on top of it in future ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.