Yellow Rowans - Sorbus Aucuparia Sunshine

I've been meaning to blip these rowans for ages, and just got round to it today.  Several of these ornamental rowan trees line the upper end of Montrose High Street - although they have lost nearly all of their leaves there are still plenty of berries on them.  According to my nature reading they keep their berries longer because the birds prefer the red berry variety.  There are so many stories about the rowan tree - I prefer the version that says they keep witches away  - I've got two rowan trees so I'm well protected. There's another Pagan story which says one at your door provides you with a Portal from this world to the other world  -  so presumably I'll have a smooth journey when I die lol!  Here's an interesting link.  You might be surprised at how many different coloured rowan berries there - just look at this LINK for instance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.