A secret location, somewhere nearby.....

Lots of errands today and a trip into town.
Mrs IttH was only working half a day so we met up for lunch and they she went off to visit her Mum and I went off to collect new little camera*....
On the way home I decided to go and investigate a 'not that little tarn' I'd come across when looking at local maps, I was quite astounded that there could be a 36acre body of water, less than 6 miles from home, that I'd never even heard of.
The map shows the tarn and it's spectacular wood to be almost entirely fenced, so clearly it was always going to be private - but a path runs right along the fence and at one point is shown to cross it - so off I set. A little research shows that Lily Mere Estate has had a troubled recent past. I found pics from 2011 showing an astounding house for sale at a whopping £2.65m - bought by a now disbarred solicitor it was demolished and a huge ugly folly half built and then left half finished when the solicitor met his own ruin. As I suspected the path never officially enters the estate, but I'm (a) not a fan of private countryside & (b) figure there's no-one there now - and, well, I've always had a slight issue with being told what to do....so I popped through a gate, wandered 50 yards, sat on a log and said "wow". I'm not sorry and I'd do it again - well until they get a gamekeeper.....

*and yes this is a phone blip - forgot new cameras come with flat batteries!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.