Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Musings from the Ythan

Three images from my walk this afternoon. Things that have inspired Scots poets and song writers.

The main photograph is of wild geese:

And far abune the Angus straths I saw the wild geese flee, 
A lang, lang skein o’ beatin’ wings, wi’ their heids towards the sea, 
And aye their cryin’ voices trailed ahint them on the air –'
Violet Jacob
from Songs of Angus (John Murray, 1915)

The first "extra" is the Ythan at the gloaming:

Roamin' in the gloamin' wi' ma lassie by ma side, 
When the sun has gone to rest, that's the time that I like best, 
O, it's lovely roamin' in the gloamin
Sir Harry Lauder
from Roamin' in the Gloamin' 

The second "extra" is a dew soaked rose The wrong colour, but never mind:

The rose of all the world is not for me. 
I want for my part 
Only the little white rose of Scotland 
That smells sharp and sweet—and breaks the heart.
Hugh MacDiarmid 
The Little White Rose from Selected Poetry. (1992)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.